WWIDIIJSWTICRMKRHAN?”

“What Would I Do If I Just Stopped Worrying That I Would Ruin My Kid Right Here and Now?”

I started this post at the beginning of the month and just now remembered that it was in my drafts. I do this often, actually. When I think of something or when something is weighing on me me I begin a post and then when I have the time to write I work on it.

I have been spending most of my time reading lately. I love love love to read. My neck and arthritis would even tell you how much I love to read. The problem with me reading is that I get sucked into a book and only come up to breathe when I am finished. This particular book I picked up read and then put down forgot about it and then picked it back up. It’s not that I didn’t find it interesting or that I couldn’t relate; it was that I already knew most of what the book was saying that it wasn’t a radically new concept to me. I think I have my degree to thank for done of the knowledge I have the rest would be from my upbringing.

Speaking of upbringing I am very fortunate to have had so many experiences and real world circumstances that most things I know about and am able to do. I’m also thankful that my husband is the same way. Together we are able to tackle most things which I take for granted until I find someone that doesn’t know how.

So back to the book: Free-Range Kids: Giving Our Children the Freedom We Had Without Going Nuts with Worry
Book by Lenore Skenazy talks about the dangers and supposed “dangers” that are kids are faced with everyday and how “most” parents handle them. It gives statistics of crimes and also give “baby” steps and “free range” steps that patents can take to get better at the different commandments throughout the book.

Though I do agree with most of the book and I feel that we do most of these things with our two-year old daughter I have to say that she is two and a two-year old will sometimes act like a monkey πŸ™‚ I also believe that it really depends on the child when it is appropriate to give them more freedom. I know done children that ate laid back and can be trusted not to leave a yard and then there is my daughter who would walk down the block by herself and not think twice if I wasn’t with her.

My favorite chapter started out with the title of this post. And I think that this can apply to all areas in parenting. I think in this time in our history parenting has really hit the forefront if conversation. I’m not saying that it wasn’t there before but I feel that some are asserting their thoughts and beliefs about what is right and wrong a lot more then what I saw before. I have wrote about parenting styles before so I don’t need to go into detail today.

I also have a hard time parting myself from some of my schooling as an Early Childhood Education major. It seems like more and more I see Montessori, Piaget, and Waldorf are showing themselves in this day and age. There is not one day that I can’t hop onto Pinterest and see a pin involving activities by one of them. So around here you will probably hear about one of them and what we are doing but I don’t feel like one way should have to define who I am as a parent, so what does that make me? Eclectic, a borrower, or a little bit of mush.

I think I’ve come to realize that what I once thought was the never ending chores were life-skills that made me a better person. Also that instead of looking at them as chores I can see them as those things for my children. So when I’m sweeping they can be sweeping (with little brooms) or when I’m doing dishes they can help as well. It’s not a “job” it’s just something we do together as a family.

WWIDIIJSWTICRMKRHAN?”

Leave a Reply

